Howdy folks!

Howdy folks! My name is Jared Etress and I would like to tell you a little bit about Etress Farms.

I am a small farmer (in acres not body mass) in southeast Alabama trying to make a living working the land that God has provided for us.  I am also a senior at Auburn University pursuing a bachelor’s degree in agronomy and soils. Farming has been my passion ever since my granddaddy strapped my car seat into the cab of his 3090 Massey Ferguson. I spent countless hours with him in the cab of that tractor watching every move he made and learning from his example.

 

Jared checking cotton

Jared checking the cotton. Jackson County, Florida. 2010.

I learned fast that farming was more than just driving a tractor from one end of the field to the other. Farming takes dedication and perseverance, taking the good with the bad, and countless gallons of sweat. With all of this in mind, I decided at an early age that farming was going to be the life for me.

 

With my mind made up as to what I was going to do the rest of my life, I worked to learn as much as humanly possible about the occupation that feeds and keeps America running.  After high school and junior college, I decided that the best way to become a better farmer and steward of the land was to enroll into Auburn’s agronomy and soils program. I am truly privileged to be able to go to school and learn better farming practices during the week, then take what I have learned home and apply it to my farming operation on the weekends.

 

Peanut Harvest

Peanut Harvest. Houston County, Alabama. 2010.

For the 2011 crop year I plan on farming 120 acres of cotton, 35 acres of peanuts, and expanding mine and Jillian’s small beef cattle herd. Compared to a lot of farms these numbers are small but keep in mind that I am a beginning farmer and although the “want to” to increase the size of my farm is there, the funds do not always allow for it. Through this blog I hope to inform people of what really happens on a farm and the true meaning behind the methods used.   I feel it important to mention that all of my efforts would be futile without the support of my family and most importantly my fiancé who sticks with me and continues to love me through thick and thin.

About Jared

I am a farmer from Southeast Alabama who is pursuing a degree in Agronomy and Soils to improve my farm management practices. I love farming and enjoy telling people about it!
This entry was posted in AgChat, Welcome to the Farm and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Howdy folks!

  1. Love it Jared! Can’t wait to see more!

  2. Weaver says:

    Very cute. Chrissy sent me your way.

  3. Glenda Etress Blackerby says:

    Enjoyed it so much Jared, My dad would have loved it to, he raised cotton and Soybean, and some corn.

Leave a Reply

